Other Sacraments


The ritual, sacramental action of thanksgiving to God which constitutes the principal Christian liturgical celebration of and communion in the paschal mystery of Christ.  The liturgical action called the Eucharist is also traditionally known as the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass.  It is one of the seven sacraments of the Church; the Holy Eucharist completes christian initiation.  The Sunday celebration of the Eucharist is at the heart of the Church’s life.

First Holy Communion – Our Lord Christ the King Parish’s tradition  is to prepare second graders to make their First Holy Communion as a group.  Children receive instruction through Cardinal Pacelli School or the parish’s CCD program.  The annual event is usually held in late April or early May.


One of the ensemble of the Sacraments of Initiation into the Church, together with Baptism and Eucharist. Confirmation completes the grace of Baptism by a special outpouring of the gifts of the Holy Spirit, which seal or “confirm” the baptized in union with Christ and equip them for active participation in the worship and apostolic life of the Church.

Confirmation is celebrated every two years; preparation is administered through Cardinal Pacelli Junior High and the CCD Program.


The liturgical celebration of God’s forgiveness of the sins of the penitent, who is thus reconciled with God and with the Church. The acts of the penitent–contrition, the confession of sins, and satisfaction or reparation–together with the prayer of absolution by the priest, constitute the essential elements of the Sacrament of Penance.

Saturday…………………………… 3:15 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. or by appointment

Advent and Lenten Penance services: Check bulletin or calendar.

Annointing of the Sick

One of the seven sacraments administered by a priest to a baptized person because of illness or old age, through prayer and the anointing of the body with the oil of the sick. The proper effects of the sacrament include a special grace of healing and comfort to the Christian who is suffering the infirmities of serious illness or old age, and the forgiving of the person’s sins.

Contact the Parish Office to receive this Sacrament.

Holy Orders

The Sacrament of Apostolic Ministry by which the mission entrusted by Christ to his Apostles continues to be exercised in the Church through the laying on of hands. This sacrament has three distinct degrees or “orders”: deacon, priest, and bishop. All three confer a permanent, sacramental character.

Local preparation for the priesthood is offered by Mount St. Mary’s Seminary, located in Mt. Washington. If you sense a call to this special vocation, contact Rev. Kyle Schnippel at the Archdiocese of Cincinnati Vocations Office.